Grilled Salmon

DSCN0981

Since we enjoyed celebrating Easter with just the three of us, we decided to be a little untraditional (at least for our family) and use the grill.  My husband LOVES to grill and I LOVE it when he does grill.  It means I get to sit back and relax a little.  We actually enjoyed our Easter dinner Saturday night and had a very easy light lunch on Sunday (Black Bean Burgers – recipe to come).  I came across a marinade recipe for salmon on Pinterest (don’t you love that site?!).  The salmon was amazing, and even my almost 4-year-old loved it!  Although she loves fish, the last time we had salmon she wasn’t so sure about it.   Because of that, I made sure we had something she would eat – grilled shrimp!  This time, she ate a whole filet herself, along with the shrimp! 🙂  One thing I would change about the marinade is the oil.  Salmon is such a fatty fish to begin with, so I questioned so much oil in the marinade.  Against my better judgement, and to the surprise of my husband, I followed it exactly.  For my taste, the salmon turned out to be too oily.  The next time we have it, I think I’ll leave the oil completely out.  All in all, it is a definite keeper, and by far the best salmon my husband has grilled to date!  Who knows, maybe this will become a new tradition for us!

Here’s the recipe if you want to try it.

Brown Sugar Marinade for Salmon

lemon pepper to taste

garlic powder to taste

salt to taste

1/3 cup soy sauce

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup water

1/4 cup vegetable oil

Season salmon with lemon pepper, garlic, and salt.  Combine soy sauce, brown sugar, water, and vegetable oil in a bowl and stir until sugar is dissolved.

Place salmon in a ziplock bag and pour marinade over.  Let all the air out of the bag and seal.  Refrigerate the marinated salmon for at least 2 hours.

My husband prefers to grill the salmon over medium heat on top of greased foil for 16-20 minutes without flipping it over.

I would love to know how your’s turns out and what you think.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grilled Salmon

  1. Nothing like starting a new Easter tradition! :] Grilled salmon is one of our family’s favorites too. My dad likes rubbing it with Cajun spices, and it turns out beautifully every time.

Leave a Reply

