Being called “Mama”

Four years ago today I was handed a gift that would change my life forever.  My precious daughter.  The long-awaited moment had finally come, and in that moment I became a mother.  The thoughts and emotions raced through my mind and heart.  I didn’t know I could love someone so much in an instant.  I couldn’t fathom that I had instantly become the caregiver, protector, provider, parent, teacher, coach, trainer, disciplinarian, ect. to this beautiful baby girl.  Questions swirled in my head – What do I do? How do I care for her? What does she need? How do I know what she wants? How often will she need to eat? How much will she eat? When do I start real food? What if I do it wrong?  As any parent knows, you just take one day at a time and the questions seem to answer themselves as the days pass.  These four years have been the best of my life, yet also the most challenging.  Every day is its own and I am so grateful to my husband for allowing me the privilege of being a stay-at-home mom.  Though there are some days I wish I could escape and have an office job once again, when I really think about it, I wouldn’t change it for anything in the world!  My daughter is my companion, one of my best friends, one of my passions, and a mirror reflecting who I really am – good and bad.

I thank God each day for the awesome privilege of being called “Mama”.

DSCN0322

This entry was posted in Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Being called “Mama”

  1. Catherine says:

    Well said, it truly is a privalage to be a stay at home mom!

  2. colezoe says:

    Absolutely beautiful. Please check out my post on young girls living in today’s generation. http://mylifemybubble.wordpress.com/2013/04/08/honey-what-happened-to-the-kids/

    • Kimberly says:

      Thanks for sharing. I read your post, and it is heart-breaking to see young girls dressing promiscuously. I truly believe that most of them have no idea that what they wear catches the attention of young and old men in a sexual way. If they did know that, I think they would think twice about what they are wearing. My daughter is only 4 and because of her height, I have already had to look a little longer for clothes that are appropriate for her to wear. We live in a sex crazed culture, and it is so sad to see clothing in stores that are designed to reveal or accentuate certain areas on girls as young as 5 and 6. There are stores that we avoid for this very reason. I want my daughter to wear clothes that are very becoming on her, but also appropriate.

      I also read on your blog that you are studying fashion at the university. My challenge to you being that you too recognize this to be a real concern, is to go against culture and strive to design clothing for young girls, teens, and adults women alike that is fashionable and becoming, yet doesn’t show off areas that attract unwanted attention from the opposite sex.

Leave a Reply

