Looking for the Helpers

Watching the events unfold during yesterday’s bombing at the Boston Marathon was shocking.  My mind was flooded with thoughts of, “why would someone do that?”,  “what is the purpose?”, “this world is crazy!”, “who in their right mind would do such a thing?”, “what do I do?”.  Then, as I calmed down, I began to pray for those people who were injured, for those helping the injured, and yes even for the people who caused such destruction and hurt.  As I sat waiting to hear from the family I have living there, I also prayed for the families waiting to hear from loved ones who were participating in or watching the race, or those who just live in the area.  I went to bed last night with a heavy heart, burdened for the tragedy that has taken place.

This morning, I woke up feeling a lot of the same things.  And then, I read this quote from Mister Rogers.

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother  would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are  helping.’ To this day, especially in times of ‘disaster,’ I remember my mother’s  words, and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many  helpers–so many caring people in this world.”

From The World According to Mister Rogers (Kindle Locations  645-647).

Read the full text here:  http://mentalfloss.com/article/31936/20-gentle-quotations-mister-rogers#ixzz2QclR9mWD –brought to you by mental_floss!

I read that and thought back to the images I saw on the news.  I didn’t notice anyone running away from the explosions.  The people I noticed were the ones running toward the explosion.  These people had no care for themselves, but only compassion and concern for the injured and the helpless.  Wow!  I then began thanking God for all the people who ran to help, and praying that if I am ever in such a situation that I too would give no thought to myself and run toward those in need.

I wasn’t at home when I saw the news, and as I stood watching, I observed a young girl and her mother pass by.  The young girl asked her mother, “What happened?”  Her mother answered, “Nothing you need to be concerned about.”  In that moment I wondered what I would say to my little girl.  How would I explain the events of today to a 4-year-old?  The easy answer would be the answer I heard this mother give.  Yes, I do want to protect my daughter, let her grow up in her own time, and not stress her with the evil of this world.  And no, I’m not going to plant my child in front of the television and intentionally show tragedies to her, but I know the day will come when she sees something I didn’t expect, and she will ask me, “Mom, what happened?  What is going on? Why are all those people running? What are they doing?”  I’ve decided that I will do what I always try to do, and that is to answer in the best way that she can understand, but I wont stop there.  I will help her look for the helpers.  Focus on the people who are not concerned for themselves, but for the people around them.  And then, maybe we’ll talk about what we might do if we were there, or somewhere else and saw people injured.  Would we just walk (or run) away scared and concerned for ourselves, or would we do all that we could to help the injured and helpless people around us?

As far as the evil and the tragedies around us, John 16:33 says, “I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me.  Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows.  But take heart, because I have overcome the world.”  (New Living Translation)

I am so grateful for a God and Savior who loves us.  Who promises us peace which can only come through Him.  He is with us through every trial and sorrow.  I am thankful for the urging of Christ when He says, “But take heart, because I have overcome the world.”  Yes, we live in a fallen sinful world and there will always be things going on around us that we cannot comprehend, but there is hope because Christ has overcome the world!  He is greater than the evil around us.  It is in Him that I put my trust!

I will continue my day and the days ahead thanking God for the hope I see on the news, not what the reporters are saying, but what I see – the helpers, the heroes running to those in need.  I will never stop LOOKING FOR THE HELPERS!

This entry was posted in Lessons in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

