Gluten-free flour tortillas

After my post on how to make flour tortillas, I was asked if I had ever made any gluten-free tortillas.  I took that as a challenge, and I’ve finally done it!  The most surprising thing – they turned out great!  Delicious actually!  And…. they weren’t crumbly and didn’t fall apart when I rolled them up!  I consider that success!  🙂  Here is the recipe I followed.

Gluten-free flour tortillas

2 cups gluten-free all-purpose flour (I used 1 cup GF oat flour, 3/4 cup brown rice flour and 1/4 cup sorghum flour – only because it is what I had on hand)

2 teaspoons Xanthan gum

1 teaspoon gluten-free baking powder

2 teaspoons brown sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup warm water

Thoroughly mix all the dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl.  Pour the warm water over the dry mixture and stir together until it forms a ball of dough.  I found the dough to be very sticky, so I ended up adding probably another 3/4 of GF oat flour until it didn’t stick to my hands any more.

Divide dough into 8-10 equal portions and roll into balls.  Set these on a plate and cover them with plastic wrap to keep them warm and to prevent drying out while you work with them individually.

Heat your pan or griddle to medium heat while you begin to roll out your first tortilla.

Before you begin rolling out your tortilla, be sure to flour your surface really well to prevent sticking.  Unlike traditional flour tortillas, these are very delicate, like to stick to the counter, and will tear easily, so just be gentle while working with them.  As I was rolling them out, I would occasionally pick the tortilla up and add more flour underneath to prevent sticking.  Roll each ball into a circle trying to get it as thin as you can.

Gently pick up the tortilla and place it onto the dry hot griddle.  Cook approximately 1-2 minutes before flipping it over and then cook for about 1 more minute.  I like to put the cooked tortillas on a plate in the microwave to keep them warm.  While one tortilla is cooking,  you can roll out the next one.

DSCN1113

The tortillas were delicious by themselves!  I used them for chicken and black bean enchiladas.

DSCN1114I was worried about the tortillas becoming soggy or turning to mush once they soaked up the enchilada sauce, but they held together really well.  We really couldn’t tell they were gluten-free at all in the taste or texture.  I will definitely be making these again! 🙂

This entry was posted in Gluten-free, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gluten-free flour tortillas

  1. Pingback: Final Results – 30-day Detox | More Than Simply Living

  2. Pingback: Fish Tacos | More Than Simply Living

Leave a Reply

