No more fabric softener! – another money saving tip

Another way I have saved money on consumables in our house is fabric softener.  I don’t know that I will ever purchase it again!  My replacement?  Vinegar.  That’s right, distilled white vinegar – something that can be found in almost every kitchen.  For a top loader, I fill the fabric softener “ball” dispenser to the line just like I would with fabric softener.  For a front loader, I fill the tray to the line as normal.  Vinegar naturally softens the fabric, but it also it also does more!  It will also naturally aid in freshening the smell of fabrics.

One of the smells I cannot stand is mildew.  For years I would get frustrated and to be honest, disgusted, with our towels beginning to smell mildewed.  I would wash our towels every other day just to aid in preventing the smell, and would always fail.  I would find myself buying yet another set of towels and starting over.  It never occurred to me that the smell was actually coming from a build-up of laundry detergent on the towel itself. Wow! No wonder I couldn’t get rid of the smell.  Every time I washed them, more build-up was added.  And no, I didn’t stop washing my towels! HaHa! 🙂

Back to the beginning…, Around the time I started using vinegar as a fabric softener for our clothing, our towels once again began to have that ‘smell’, and I really didn’t want to shell out a ton of money for yet another set of towels.  I was still doing some reading on the whole Vinegar as a fabric softener and I read that it would also help soften towels, freshen their smell, and make them feel brand new.  Could that be true?  I thought that if vinegar could do all that, I had to give it a try.  What did I find?! The smell had completely gone away!  We are now going on 3  years with the same set of towels!!  I know that probably doesn’t sound all that impressive, but we were actually replacing our towels every 8-12 months with the only reason being that I cannot stand any amount of mildew smell.  Add that up over 10 years, and that is a lot of money!  Our current towels continue to smell fresh and still feel new!  If you can’t tell, I am super excited about this!! 🙂

If you decide to give it a try I know you won’t be disappointed, and if you are like me, your wallet and husband will be much happier! 🙂

This entry was posted in For the Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No more fabric softener! – another money saving tip

  1. Amber Jones says:

    Thanks for the tip

  2. Amber Jones says:

    Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

