Bean and Kale Soup with Gluten-Free Cornbread

Day 3 of our detox has actually been pleasant! I was very pleased this morning when I woke up with a very clear head, well rested, and ready to go. I didn’t even miss my coffee this morning! Several times throughout the day I did look at the coffee pot longingly, wishing that I could sip some while I worked on other projects, did school with my daughter, as I’m typing this… Instead, I had water throughout the day, and am now sipping on some hot white tea with just a little bit of coconut milk in it as the cream. Not too bad actually! 🙂

As promised, I wanted to share what we had for dinner last night (on day 2). Just as the title says, we had Bean and Kale Soup with Gluten-free Cornbread. It was delicious!

I had the soup cooking in the crock pot all afternoon, and when we arrived home just before dinner, my daughter literally stopped in her tracks, sniffed the air, let out a big sigh, and said, “What is that I smell? It smells soooo good!” I couldn’t have said it better myself. 🙂

I will say that she was a little nervous to eat it, but only because I tried to make a bean and kale soup last week that was a total flop! After her first couple of bites, she dramatically exclaimed, “I love this! I could eat this for breakfast, for lunch, for dinner, for snack! I could eat this anywhere!” Although my husband and I totally agreed with those comments, I’m not sure if she was being totally honest, being her overly dramatic self, or if she was just quoting Dr. Seuss’s Green Eggs and Ham. Either way, I’ll take a compliment on my cooking any day! 🙂

DSCN1344

 

My husband and daughter were SO excited that we were able to have some cornbread to go with our soup. Being on a detox, I wasn’t sure we would be able to have any bread. I rarely back down from a challenge, especially when it comes to cooking and baking, and I tweaked a recipe just enough to make it detox friendly. 🙂 The cornbread was gluten-free, dairy-free and sugar-free, and believe it or not, it was actually very light and moist! Definitely a keeper in my book. 🙂

DSCN1347

 

If you try these recipes, I hope you enjoy them as much as we did. We will definitely be keeping these around as new staples in our home! 🙂

Bean and Kale Soup

½ large onion, chopped

1 can petite diced tomatoes, no salt added

1 cup dry cranberry beans or red beans (soaked overnight in water to soften) Or, you may use 1 can red beans rinsed and drained.

10 oz of kale, thick stems removed and leaves chopped

1 pkg lean smoked kielbasa, cut lengthwise and then in half

8 cups or more water to cover

2 Tablespoons chicken bullion

1 teaspoon garlic powder

3 teaspoons smoked paprika

1 teaspoon dried basil

If using dry beans, the night before cooking, be sure to prepare beans by soaking them in water overnight.

In a large crock pot, combine all ingredients, adding the kale last – it will make it easier to stir the seasoning in if you do so before adding all the kale. Cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 3-4 hours.

 

Gluten-Free Cornbread

¾ cup cornmeal (Bob’s Red Mill Whole Grain Cornmeal)

1 cup corn flour (Bob’s Red Mill)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

2 cups of non-dairy milk

2 Tablespoons olive oil

Pre-heat oven to 450°. In a medium bowl, combine cornmeal, corn flour, and baking powder. Add in the eggs, non-dairy milk, and olive oil. Stir until well combined. The batter will be very runny. Pour into a greased 8×8 or 7×11 baking dish – or any similar size casserole dish. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Again, this batter is very runny. Not sure how it would turn out using a different brand cornmeal. The place I found the original recipe, highly recommended using the Bob’s Red Mill Cornmeal which I happened to have on hand. You may also use all cornmeal in this recipe rather than cornmeal and corn flour. I like a finer texture cornbread crumb, so I used both. I have altered this recipe from the original to suit our detox and our personal taste.

 

This entry was posted in 30-day detox, Gluten-free, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bean and Kale Soup with Gluten-Free Cornbread

  1. Pingback: Gluten-free Italian Herb Muffins | More Than Simply Living

  2. Pingback: Green Chili Cornbread | More Than Simply Living

  3. Pingback: Italian Herb Muffins | More Than Simply Living

  4. Pingback: Final Results – 30-day Detox | More Than Simply Living

Leave a Reply

