Week 1 Results – 30-Day Detox

Week 1 results are in!  I am pleasantly surprised by the results that I have seen in just the first week of our 30-day detox!

I’ll go ahead and give the result everyone really wants to hear first… I have lost 3 lbs.!!!  I really was not expecting to lose any weight, especially right up front.  Needless to say, I am very happy about that.  Although I have been comfortable with my current weight, I did put on an extra 10 pounds that I really don’t need, while spending 6+ months in a medication-induced menopause.  As my body has slowly been adjusting to having normal estrogen levels again, close to 3 pounds has already fallen off over the past 2 months.  But, 3 more pounds all this first week – that makes me very happy. 🙂 I can already feel the difference in my pants which are now much more comfortable 🙂  And let me also make it clear that I have NOT gone hungry.  Because my goal hasn’t been weight loss, I eat when I’m hungry.  I just eat differently than I would have 2 weeks ago during those hunger moments – fruit, fresh veggies, even a few corn chips or rice crackers.  Not that I didn’t try to snack healthy before, but I did have some of the no-no’s for this detox – wheat crackers, Cheese-its, cheese sticks, chocolate, peanuts, etc.  It’s amazing what a few changes in your diet can do!

Now for other results that I think are amazing…

  • I no longer have my afternoon energy slump!  Over the past several months, I found myself looking to yet another cup of coffee in the afternoons to get me through the rest of the day.  Not any more!  I don’t even feel tired or lack the get-go I need to get through the rest of the day.

 

  • I can think clearly!  Yay!  One of the things I had really been struggling with up until this past week was a foggy head.  I could not even think straight.  Trying to keep things running smoothly and staying organized around my home was a challenge because I just couldn’t focus very well.  Most days I felt like I was treading water just trying to get the normal things done.  Just in the past couple of days I have really noticed a difference!  I’m actually getting things accomplished more quickly and end up with extra time to do the things I “want” to be doing rather than always feeling like I am trying to “catch-up” on what needs to be done.

This first week has definitely had its challenges – really wanting coffee for the first few days, making cupcakes for a friend (which happened to be my favorite cake and icing combination), attending a birthday party complete with all the comfort foods most kids parties have (including the afore-mentioned cupcakes).  Some of these things were hard to resist, and others weren’t.  Unlike the “diets” I’ve tried in the past, I have actually succeeded in sticking with it and having self-control.  I have no doubt it is because I have a reason to stick with it.  I want to help my body get back on track after going through 6+ months of medical treatment.  After all, it is only for 30 days, and I know I will be better off for sticking with it.  I already am after just 1 week! 🙂

Oh, and in case you are wondering, my husband has also lost 3+ pounds this past week!  I cannot wait to see what other results we will find during the coming weeks on this detox!  We are 8 days down and 22 to go. 🙂

This entry was posted in 30-day detox and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 1 Results – 30-Day Detox

  1. Pingback: Week 2 results – 30-day detox | More Than Simply Living

  2. Amber Jones says:

    Way to go Kimberly!!

Leave a Reply

