A typical day on a detox

So what does a typical day looks like on this 30-day detox?

The first thing I do when I get up is make myself a hot cup of green tea to enjoy while I wake up and do my typical morning routine as I mentally and physically get ready for the day.  I still relish my hot “something” each morning, and this is my substitute for coffee at the moment.

DSCN1425

Breakfast:  Once my little one gets up and is ready to eat, I join her and have a delicious protein shake.  To make this, we use 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk, 1/4 cup frozen blueberries, 1/4 cup walnuts, 2 handfuls of spinach, 2 scoops of Arbonne vegetable based vanilla protein shake mix, 1 scoop of Arbonne fiber, and 1 packet of Arbonne digestive enzymes and probiotic.  I put all this into a food processor and let the blending begin!  It is very good and I’ve come to look forward to this every day.  Because my husband leaves for work early in the morning, I actually make both of our shakes the night before in order to save on time and for fear of waking our little one way too early in the morning.  This protein shake does a great job of filling me up and definitely keeps me going until lunch!

DSCN1428

Lunch:  I usually have a freshly made salad.  This one is made with a nice spring lettuce mix, topped with mushrooms, cucumber, sugar snap peas, tomatoes, strawberries, avocado, and pistachios.  Unfortunately, because we are eliminating sugar, vinegar, dairy, and soy from our diet for this detox, there really isn’t any detox-friendly salad dressing out there.  As a substitute, we are using a Salsa Verde we found without any vinegar in it.  It really is very good, and it adds a nice kick to the salad.  Some days I will add chicken to it and others, not.

DSCN1421

Snack:  Even though I try my best not to snack, there are days where I just need a little bit more.  I first try to satisfy my hunger with water, and if that doesn’t seem to do it, then I will add a little snack in.  I will admit, that most of the days so far I have typically had a light snack in the afternoon.  Generally some type of fresh fruit – pear, orange, apple, banana.  Or, sometimes raw veggies – sugar snap peas, cauliflower.  Or even just some nuts – almonds, pistachios.  My husband loves an almond and raisin mixture (raisins don’t typically have added sugar like other dried fruit so they are perfect for an on the go snack!).

Dinner – This is our big meal for the day.  We generally have a balanced meal that fits the guidelines of the detox: 1/2 of our plate filled with non-starchy veggies, 1/4 filled with a lean protein, 1/8 filled with a healthy grain or carb, and 1/8 filled with a healthy fat (this would include any olive oil used for cooking our dinner.)  To be honest, not all of our dinners are balanced this way.  There are those times where our meal is right on target, and others where we are a little off the proportions but still eliminating the “bad” stuff.  The other night, we had quinoa with roasted cauliflower and portabella mushrooms  and a side of sautéed kale.  Yum!

DSCN1341

Evening:   We then end our day with a nice cup of hot Arbonne herbal detox tea.  Now that our days are warming up, we are thinking about trying this cold.

DSCN1429

As you can see, we really are able to eat great tasting food, and like I’ve said before, if I’m hungry, I do eat.  The only exception I have is that I don’t eat after 7 pm even if I am hungry.  The tea does help to satisfy my hunger.

This entry was posted in 30-day detox and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A typical day on a detox

  1. Nick says:

    We didn’t do this, but you _could_ make your own salad dressing using Cider Vinegar. I don’t know why Cider Vinegar is allowed where others aren’t, but you could definitely make your own vinagrette…..

Leave a Reply

