Potato Griddle Biscuits

The other night we had one of our family’s favorite dinners, and an often requested one by my little girl – Cauliflower-Broccoli Soup .  Generally, we enjoy this with some tasty crackers or some type of bread, but because of the detox we are on, those are not an option right now.  I really wanted more than just the soup, so I started searching through my gluten-free cookbook.  After reading through several yummy sounding recipes, I settled on this one.  I was strapped for time, and these sounded like they would be quick, and not too difficult.  Otherwise, I don’t know that I ever would have tried this recipe, but I’m glad I did!  These gluten-free potato griddle biscuits are a little different from what we’re used to, a touch bland, but they are really good and they pared well with the soup!

DSCN1557

I did have to tweak the original recipe just a little in order to suit our detox.  Here is what I made.

Potato Griddle Biscuits

1 large potato

2 Tablespoons non-dairy milk (I used almond milk)

2/3 cup brown rice flour

pinch of salt

1 teaspoon gluten-free baking powder

1/2 teaspoon dried basil

1 egg, beaten

a little olive oil for cooking

Cut potato into roughly 1/2 inch cubes and boil in water until soft.  Drain and mash the potato with the non-dairy milk until smooth.  Add in the flour, baking powder, salt, basil, and beaten egg.  Mix together until it forms a soft ball of dough.  This will be very soft, but should not be sticky.  If it is sticky, add more flour.

Dust a surface with additional brown rice flour and pat the ball into a nice flat circle approximately 1/4 inch thick, and then cut into 8 triangles.

DSCN1550

While you are working the dough, heat a griddle or skillet to medium heat.  When ready to cook the biscuits, brush the griddle with olive oil.  Place triangle biscuits on the hot griddle and cook for 2-3 minutes on each side or until nice and golden brown.

DSCN1552

Remove from heat and enjoy!  I can imagine these would pare well with many things.  They were a perfect addition to our soup, and would be great with breakfast to go along with an omelet, or even as a hors d’oeuvre with a nice strong cheese.

DSCN1553

This entry was posted in Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Potato Griddle Biscuits

  1. Pingback: Final Results – 30-day Detox | More Than Simply Living

  2. This looks delicious! Just new to the world of gluten free, I’ve been terribly sad to not have bread (I can’t have yeast, either, and my options are few and far between to say the least). I will most definitely give these a try!

    • I have been trying my hand at gluten free baking lately and though it can be challenging, the results are always so yummy! I hope you like these. I plan on posting more gluten free options as I continue to explore the GF world of baking 🙂

Leave a Reply

