Pico de Gallo

I looked up the meaning of Pico de Gallo and apparently it translates to “pecking rooster”.  I really have no idea why this fresh Mexican salad has received the name “pecking rooster”, but whatever the case, you can find it in any Mexican restaurant you go into.  And, who doesn’t love the fresh Pico de Gallo that comes on your plate when you order?  To be honest, I didn’t for a long time.  I use to immediately scrape my portion off onto my husbands plate and let him enjoy it all.  Just in the past couple of years I have decided to give it another try.  One of our local Mexican restaurants serves it in their chicken soup, it adds so much flavor and makes the soup taste so fresh, that I really have come to enjoy it.  I now look forward to any dish that serves it on the side.  I’ve recently decided to give it a try at home, and I officially now LOVE it – the fresh tomatoes, the crunch from the sweet onion, the spicy kick from the jalapeno, and the amazing flavor of the cilantro.  It adds so much to any Mexican dish!  And the best part, it is so EASY to make!  Why have I stayed away from it for so long?!?!

DSCN1577

Pico de Gallo

2 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced

1/2 jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely diced (feel free to add more if you like things a little more spicy)

1/4 medium sweet onion, finely diced DSCN1436

a nice handful of fresh cilantro, chopped (approximately 1/2 to 3/4 cup chopped)

Stir all the ingredients together and let it set for 30 minutes before serving.  This is so yummy by itself with just some good tortilla chips, or use it to top pretty much any Mexican dish.  Last week we had it on top of some yummy fish tacos, and this week we added it to our taco salad.

DSCN1579

For our taco salad, we layered it starting with fresh romaine lettuce picked earlier in the afternoon at my wonderful friend’s organic garden which she has dubbed – “Wooly Bugger Farm”.  We then added black beans, taco seasoned ground chicken (you can find out how we do ground chicken here), fresh Pico de Gallo, avocado, and crushed blue corn chips.  Absolutely delicious!  From my husband – it was the best taco salad we have ever had! This is saying a lot since he will rarely complain about anything I fix.  When he says it is the best he has had, that means it was REALLY good!  🙂

The next time you are in the mood for a great Mexican dish, I hope you’ll give this fresh salad a try.  You wont be disappointed!  🙂

This entry was posted in Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pico de Gallo

  1. Pingback: Fish Tacos | More Than Simply Living

Leave a Reply

