Gluten-Free Blueberry Pecan Pancakes

One of the things my husband enjoys on the weekends is when I make him a hot breakfast on Saturday morning.  However, this weekend our plans didn’t allow for that.  I was determined to fit it in somehow, so last night we enjoyed breakfast for dinner.  In doing this, I was able to accomplish three goals: 1. Feed my family.  2.  Make my husband happy.  3.  Fill the freezer with pancakes for my daughter.  I hadn’t planned to make pancakes for us because of our detox, but standing over and smelling the ones I was making for the little one really made me want some too.  I did a quick search online (I love the internet!) and found a recipe for which I had everything I needed.  As with all the other recipes I’ve made the past month, I had to change it so it would fit our detox.  Not only are these pancakes gluten-free, they are also sugar-free and dairy-free.  I also adjusted the recipe to make a very small batch (8 pancakes) because I didn’t want any leftovers.

DSCN1685

Gluten-free Blueberry Pecan Pancakes

1 1/6 cup GF Oat Flour

1/4 teaspoon Xanthan Gum

3/4 teaspoon GF Baking Powder

1/4 teaspoon Sea Salt

1 large Egg

1/2 teaspoon pure Vanilla Extract

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil

1 cup Dairy-free Milk (I used Unsweetened Original Almond Milk)

fresh or frozen Blueberries

chopped Pecans

Pre-heat griddle to medium heat.  Stir all dry ingredients together until well-incorporated.  Mix in liquid ingredients until the batter is smooth.  Spoon onto hot griddle.  Sprinkle with chopped pecans and blueberries.  Cook for 1-2 minutes or until the tops lose their shine and the bottom is a nice golden color.  Flip and cook an additional 1-2 minutes.  Serve hot with your favorite syrup! 

DSCN1680

We didn’t use any syrup because we aren’t having any sugar right now.  The blueberries really helped add some sweetness and the pecans really added a lot of flavor/texture to these pancakes. 

DSCN1683We also had fried eggs with sautéed bell peppers and onions, fresh cilantro, and chopped tomatoes. 

This definitely satisfied our “breakfast” craving!  My husband was happy he got a hot breakfast, and my daughter was happy that the freezer is now stocked with her favorite pancakes. I’ll be sharing the recipe for our go-to standard pancakes I make for her soon. 🙂

We are nearing the end of our detox, in fact, we are on day 29 with 1 day to go!  🙂  I’ll be sharing our thoughts and results after we finish completely!  What’s the one thing we’re looking forward to the most?  I’ll let you guess. 🙂

This entry was posted in Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten-Free Blueberry Pecan Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Final Results – 30-day Detox | More Than Simply Living

Leave a Reply

