Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies

I have not met anyone who doesn’t like a good cookie, and what could be better than a cookie that you could eat guilt-free for breakfast?  Near the end of our 30-day detox, I began searching for some healthy breakfast options and came across a recipe for breakfast cookies.  To be perfectly honest, they had me at cookies and I had to give it a try!  🙂  I told my 4-year-old daughter that we were going to make some breakfast cookies, and asked if she would like to be able to eat cookies for breakfast.  She burst into laughter and said, “You’re kidding me, right?”  🙂

You may have noticed by now that I can rarely leave a recipe unchanged from the original – something my husband has had to learn to accept over the years.  I will say that I am getting better and writing my variation down so that I can do my best to replicate what I make. 🙂  Below you will find my version of very healthy “Breakfast Cookies”.

DSCN1700

Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies

2 ripe bananas – mashed until smooth

1/3 cup creamy almond butter

2/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium bowl, mix mashed bananas and almond butter until thoroughly combined.  Stir in applesauce, vanilla, oats, and walnuts.  Allow the mixture to rest for approximately 10 minutes – this will allow it to thicken slightly before baking.

Drop cookies by spoonful onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.  I like to use a 2-tablespoon ice cream scoop, it makes it the process quick and all the cookies are uniform (also keeps things neat and easy for clean-up).  Slightly press each cookie down to flatten the tops.  The cookies will not spread while baking, so you can place them fairly closely together.

Bake for 12-15 minutes or longer depending on how done you like your cookies.  I prefer mine to be a little chewy. 🙂  Let them cool on the cookie sheet for approximately 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to completely cool.  Once they have cooled completely, store in an airtight container and refrigerate.  This recipe makes approximately 20 small cookies.

Feel free to incorporate your favorite add-ins – raisins, chocolate chips, etc.

These are absolutely delicious, are gluten-free (make sure your oats are labeled as such), dairy-free, egg-free, and have no added sugar (other than what is in the almond butter, and naturally found in the fruit)!  Make these and surprise your kids by serving them for breakfast.  They will LOVE you for it!  And you will know they are eating something good for them!  🙂

DSCN1786

This entry was posted in Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies

  1. sophiecussen says:

    They sound really good and healthy – what’s not to like! 🙂

Leave a Reply

