Tomato and Basil Bruschetta

I love to keep meals simple on Sundays.  Easy prep + easy clean-up = more relaxing and time with family.  To be completely honest, a lot of our Sunday evening meals consist of cold cereal or oatmeal.  Last night I was in the mood for something different.  Ever since we got back from Ecuador, I’ve been craving fresh veggies and light meals.  Last week we were given a ton of home-grown veggies (mostly zucchini – more recipes to come!), so we had some delicious ripe tomatoes, and I had my own plethora of basil from our little herb garden.  I picked up some French bread at the store and quickly put these three together to make some yummy Tomato and Basil Bruschetta to go with our salad.

100_6804

Tomato and Basil Bruschetta

1 loaf crusty French bread, sliced 1 inch thick

2 ripe tomatoes, sliced thin

Fresh Basil

Cheese of your choice – Feta, fresh Mozzarella, Parmesan, etc. 100_6799

Olive oil, balsamic vinegar, black pepper, garlic, Italian seasoning

I first mixed up some olive oil, balsamic vinegar, black pepper, garlic, and Italian seasoning (sorry, I didn’t measure – just mix to your personal liking) and brushed one side of the bread with it.  Next, cover each slice with basil and tomato slices.  You can top these with your favorite cheese – fresh mozzarella, feta, parmesan, etc.  I used feta on half of ours and left the others plain.

Broil for 2 minutes or until cheese is slightly brown.  You can also bake them at 375 degrees for 5-6 minutes (Unfortunately, after I had these ready to go in the oven, I realized my broiler element would not come on so instead, I had to bake ours which ended up working out well.)

We had these alongside our Greek salad.  It was so light and fresh, easy to put together and perfect for a Sunday evening meal!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tomato and Basil Bruschetta

  1. Pingback: Greek Salad Dressing | More Than Simply Living

  2. Yummy yummy yummy! You really can’t beat the flavors of a good bruschetta 🙂

Leave a Reply

