Homemade Almond Butter

My family loves almond butter!  To be honest, for me it wasn’t love at first taste.  It took me a little while to like it by itself.  I used it all the time in our granola bars, but just by itself… well, it just wasn’t what I was used to.  Now however, I love it!  In fact, I probably wont even buy peanut butter anymore.  Almonds are so much healthier than peanuts, and there is less sugar in the almond butter, especially now that I’ve found out how to make our own!  My 4-year-old has never really been a huge fan of 100_6924peanut butter, especially on sandwiches, but she jumps at the opportunity to have some apple slices with almond butter.  I love that she loves healthy food!

I only recently thought about actually making it myself.  I guess I never thought I had the proper ‘equipment’ to make it.  Well, if you have a food processor or a good blender, you can make any kind of nut butter!  I had originally planned to use my new Ninja Blender, but it’s one of the pulse blenders where you have to physically push the pitcher down for the blender to run.  Due to the 20 minute blending timeframe, I decided the food processor would be much easier for this project. 🙂

Here is what you will need.

Almond Butter

1 lb. raw Almonds

1/4 teaspoon Sea Salt

2 Tablespoons Coconut Palm Sugar (or honey)

1 Tablespoon Coconut Oil (optional)

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spread the almonds out onto a jelly roll pan in a single layer.  Roast in the oven for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and cool completely.

100_6919

Transfer to a food processor and blend.  The nuts will quickly turn into a powdered form.

100_6927

Continue blending and slowly the oils will be released, causing the powder to cake together.

100_6928

While blending, you will need to occasionally scrape the almonds off the sides of the processor.  The next stage you will see is that it will form a large ball.  Keep on blending.  You may feel like it isn’t doing anything, but press the ‘on’ button and wait.

100_6929

Eventually, all the oils will release and you will have a creamy almond butter.

100_6931

For me, this process took about 20 minutes to get to this point.  This is when you add the salt and sweetener.  Depending on how creamy you want the consistency of the butter, you can also add the Coconut Oil.  I did add it to mine, but I may try to cut it in half or leave it out next time as it ended up just a little more runny than I had intended.  The texture is also tad bit more gritty than the store-bought variety that we are used to.  I’m sure it has everything to do with the type of equipment used, my food processor has a standard blade.  One with more blades may grind the almonds finer.  If you like your almond butter a little sweeter, you can add more sugar to your taste, or if you prefer to have pure unaltered almond butter, it is pretty tasty without anything added to it at all.

100_6937

I poured mine into a cleaned out almond butter jar.  It filled it up nicely and we had a little extra.  This is delicious with apple slices!  I also used it to make granola bars and they turned out great!  Like any natural butters, it needs to be stored in the refrigerator.  So far I haven’t had any issue with the oil separating.  I’m sure over time I will need to stir it.  It should be good in the refrigerator for 2-3 weeks.  I doubt it will last that long here. 🙂

I know buying something pre-made at the store is so much easier, less time-consuming, and may not always be more expensive; yet, I find it so satisfying to make something myself.  I wont say I will never buy almond butter again, but you can be sure I will be making it again!  Have some fun, give it a try, and enjoy the tasty reward for your effort!

This entry was posted in Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

