Perfect Pancakes

I know everyone has their own idea of what the ‘perfect pancake’ is.  For my family, these pancakes are irresistible!  Back when we were just beginning to make major dietary changes for Little Mouse due to her newly found milk and egg food allergies, I tried many different pancake recipes.  Substituting the milk is never an issue, there really isn’t much of a difference in the outcome of a recipe when using a non-dairy milk alternative.  Eggs on the other hand can be tricky… If you take eggs out of pancakes, they become very fragile, fall apart, and aren’t as fluffy as what you are accustomed too.  During this transition time, I picked up a cookbook called The Food Allergy Mama’s Baking Book by Kelly Rudnicki.  You can check out her blog here.  When I bought it, I was not thinking ‘pancakes’ I was thinking “how in the world am I going to continue on with my passion for baking if I can’t feed any of it to my little girl?” As you know, dairy and eggs are a staple in baking, and I had hoped that this book would help me ‘bake’ for my family.  What I hadn’t planned on was finding a wonderful recipe for pancakes.  Her pancake recipe is by far the best one we tried and is one that we continue to use even now that Little Mouse has outgrown her allergies.

100_6903

These pancakes are so light and fluffy!  They hold together really well, and texturally I honestly cannot tell they don’t have any eggs in them.  I recently shared this recipe with a friend whose daughter also struggles with an egg allergy, and they too love it!

Pancakes

2 cups all-purpose flour (I use 1 cup all-purpose and 1 cup whole wheat)

4 Tablespoons granulated sugar

4 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

2 Tablespoons water

4 Tablespoons vegetable oil

2 cups soy or rice milk (I use almond milk)

Dairy-free cooking spray (optional if you are using a good non-stick griddle)

Pre-heat a griddle on medium heat until hot.

While the griddle is heating, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt with a wire whisk.  Add all liquid ingredients and whisk until combined.  It is okay if there are a few lumps in the batter.

Spray the heated griddle with cooking spray.  Pour pancake batter onto the100_6901 griddle to make the size pancakes you prefer.  I like to use a 2 Tablespoon cookie scoop.  They come out the perfect size for little ones and they are all uniform.

Cook until bubbles begin to form on top of the 100_6896pancakes and them flip them.  This is when the cooking is a little different from traditional pancakes where you flip the pancakes after the bubbles begin to pop.  If you wait too long to flip these pancakes, they will burn easily (as in my picture).  After flipping the pancakes, cook just a little while longer before removing them from the griddle and repeating the process until all the pancake batter is gone.  If you have a really good non-stick griddle, you may not have to spray with cooking spray before each batch of pancakes.  However, I would suggest you spray if you have any doubt about your griddle as these pancakes are a bit more delicate than traditional pancakes.  With my griddle, I can spray it before the 1st batch and do not need to spray it again.

I really like to double this recipe while I’m putting forth the effort to make pancakes and fill the freezer with the extra.  It is so easy to pop a few in the microwave and have a very quick hot breakfast.  🙂

These pancakes are really great by themselves because of the amount of sugar in them.  Or, if you prefer top them with your favorite syrup or other toppings such as jam, almond or peanut butter, or chocolate chips.  These are also delicious if you sprinkle a few blueberries or pecans on them as they cook.

100_6893

Little Mouse loves it when I give her a handful of chocolate chips to ‘decorate’ her pancakes. 🙂

100_6895

She most often makes ‘Smiley Faces’, but has a lot of fun and looks forward to making each one!

Not too long ago I made traditional pancakes (because we can now), and didn’t really like them.  They just didn’t compare to these delicious, light, fluffy, and tender pancakes.  This is one recipe that we will use for years to come!  And, if you’re out of eggs, you can still make breakfast. 🙂

This entry was posted in Dairy-free, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

