Breakfast Shake

Ever since we finished our 30-day detox, I have been trying to figure out a healthy breakfast shake/smoothie that we could do that would really tide us over until lunch without adding any protein mix. It is so hard to find an affordable protein mix with an ingredient list that I am comfortable with. And, when I can, I prefer to make things with the original whole food product so I know exactly what I’m eating.

I tried multiple recipes, some with Kefir, others with plain yogurt, but didn’t like any of them. They were far to sour, and I didn’t want to be adding a ton of sugar into my breakfast meal. Then I came across a recipe that really sounded good – with no dairy in it at all! I made a few changes, added some spinach, and haven’t looked for another one since!

100_6968

Breakfast Shake (single serving)

1/4 cup old-fashioned oats

1 banana

1/4 cup frozen blueberries

1-2 Tablespoons almond butter

1 cup almond milk

1 hand full of spinach (trust me, you wont taste it!)

The original recipe suggested that you first add the oatmeal into your blender or food processor and blend until it becomes a fine powder, and then add all the other ingredients. I have done this and it works quite well. However, more recently I have just been adding all the ingredients at once and blending them together. I haven’t noticed much of a difference, other than the oats are a bit more noticeable. Either way works really well. I love throwing in that handful of spinach. It helps add one more serving of veggies to my day, and I don’t even know it’s there! 🙂

100_6971

I was making this for 2, so I doubled the ingredients which is why my blender is so full.

100_6973

You can either mix this up and drink it immediately, or make it the night before and keep it in the refrigerator. I make ours the night before. My husband leaves early in the mornings, and we don’t want to wake Little Mouse so early by running the blender. It tastes just as good either way, just give it a good shake before you drink it if it has been in the refrigerator all night.

This shake tastes so good, and is actually pretty sweet considering there is no sugar added whatsoever (bananas are good that way 🙂 ). It is also filling enough that I don’t get hungry an hour later. Some days I’m not even ready to eat when Little Mouse starts asking for lunch. My husband has also been pleasantly pleased with how filling it is.

This entry was posted in Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

