School is starting!

20130902-064117.jpg

Wow! I can’t believe it is that time of year again! Summer break is over, and the school year is officially beginning at our house. I know it is Labor Day, but our 4-year-old doesn’t know that. ๐Ÿ™‚ One of the beauties of homeschooling is the fact that we get to dictate our own schedule. Since we have travel plans coming up in the next couple of months, we are able to adjust school schedule and work in the ‘off-days’ for our personal vacation into our school calendar.

Technically this is our second year to homeschool, but in all reality, I feel it is our first “official” year. Last year I just pieced some things together and tried to be more disciplined in having an academic teaching time a few days per week. This year, we will be doing a K-4 program. I will be using a “real” curriculum and then adding in a few other things that I want to do.

The past couple of weeks I have been spending time working on our school schedule and some lesson plans. It is something I’ve been needing to do for a while now, and really should have started at the beginning of the Summer. Now that I have actually gotten a couple of months of planning done, I am really excited about actually getting started with our first day of school. ๐Ÿ™‚

We were able to go shopping for school supplies a couple of weeks ago and then spent some time getting our “school boxes” ready for the year. Little Mouse enjoyed helping me find what we needed and then organizing the boxes. She absolutely loves school, and really started to get excited when she saw me working on the lesson plans. Every day since, she has been asking if school starts ‘today’. Well, ‘today’ is finally here! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope she is always excited about learning!

20130902-064000.jpg

I know homeschooling is going to be a huge challenge. Little Mouse is only 4 years old, and she has already challenged me and pushed me in ways I never expected. I never planned to be teaching my 4-year-old to read, but after continual begging on her part, we began the process this past spring. After just a few months (yes, we have been doing ‘school’ occasionally through the summer), she is reading pretty well. It has been a struggle, but she has worked hard, and it is so neat to watch her as she is now trying to read words that she finds as we are out and about. I can’t wait to see how well she progresses now that we will be working on her reading on a more consistent basis!

I don’t know that we will always homeschool. We would like to, but also plan to take each year at a time and go from there. Parenting is hard in itself, and adding the role of academic teacher to the mix is not easy. There are days and moments when I really wonder why I am homeschooling and then we have those days that are just ‘picture perfect’. There is one thing that I know for sure… to be a part of the process, to see the struggle, persistence, and achievement is absolutely priceless! I wouldn’t change it for the world. I love being the one she comes to with all her questions. She still thinks Mommy knows everything, and although it won’t be that way forever, I will enjoy it while it lasts. ๐Ÿ™‚

I am looking forward to this year’s process and progress. Here’s to a great school year!

This entry was posted in Joys of Parenthood, Lessons in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

