It’s only hair

Last week I took the plunge and got it cut,…all of it!  While I do love long hair, and actually prefer it most of the time, I felt it was time for a change.  Not only that, but it was finally long enough that I could benefit someone else by having it cut.  I love that there are companies who provide wigs for children who have illnesses that cause hair-loss, and they do this at no cost to the child!  About a year ago I was getting to the point where I wanted to cut my hair, but instead I decided I would continue to grow my hair out so that I could donate it to one of these companies.  A few weeks ago, I found that my hair had finally reached the length that I needed and made my appointment.

The length requirement for the company I chose is a minimum of 12 inches of hair.  I first had that cut off, and then an additional 3-4 inches came off when I got it styled.  It is so freeing to have short hair!

100_7265100_7266

 Before Pictures

100_7296100_7295

 After pictures

100_7299

 Total of 12 inches to be used for a wig.

I am still getting used to having my hair short.  I’m still finding ways to style it, or at least trying my best at getting it to look decent.  I love that it doesn’t take very long to get ready in the mornings.  So far I haven’t had any remorse like I have often had when cutting my hair in the past.  It feels good to know that I’ve been able to help a child during a difficult time in their life.  And, it’s only hair.  It will grow back.  I have been asked several times if I will keep it short.  I’m not sure yet.  I am enjoying right now, but winter is coming!  🙂  I also would love to be able to do this again.  I have donated my hair one time before this, but that was,…wow, around 11 years ago!  It’s amazing how time flies!  If I do decide to donate again, I hope it doesn’t take me another 11 years to do so.

If you’d like to learn more about the company I sent my hair to, you can find out more at www.wigsforkids.org

This entry was posted in Lessons in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s only hair

  1. You are a wonderful person Kimberly.

Leave a Reply

