Our favorite biscuit

My husband LOVES biscuits! I would even venture to say he leans toward being a biscuit connoisseur. I discovered this shortly after we got married. I tried my best to make biscuits for him, but…, well to be honest they just were not good. Because of this, I think it became my husband’s mission to find the perfect biscuit recipe. It seemed like biscuit recipes always came up in conversation, especially when visiting with “grandmotherly” figures. He would bring home biscuit recipes at least every couple of weeks written out on anything he could find at the time, napkins, post-it notes, receipts, etc. Being the good wife like I should, I tried them…, ok, so not ALL of them, but I did try some. Not one of them lived up to their claim. I finally just gave up and bought the frozen biscuits at the store and thought everything would be fine. Although they were good, they were not homemade. I think my husband gave up too, as he slowly stopped bringing home recipes. He would occasional comment on good biscuits, and wonder what some people did to make them so good.

As the years passed, I would occasionally attempt new biscuit recipes, and attempt new methods from my educational viewing of the Food Network. Then, it happened… I found the perfect recipe! After much praise from my VERY happy husband, the search finally ended! Yay! I now have my ‘go-to’ recipe for delicious biscuits. 🙂 I can honestly say I have not tried another biscuit recipe in the past 5 years!

DSCN0964

Buttermilk Biscuits

  • 2 cups bread flour
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 2/3 cup buttermilk (Note: As a buttermilk substitute, you can use 2/3 cup regular milk + 1 teaspoon of vinegar. For a dairy free version, you can substitute 2/3 cup almond milk +1 teaspoon vinegar.  Be sure to mix the milk and vinegar together before you start making the biscuits to give the vinegar a chance to sour the milk.)

Pre-heat the oven to 450 degrees. In a bowl, stir together the dry ingredients. Using a pastry knife, cut the shortening into the flour mixture until it resembles coarse crumbles.  It is hard to see the texture in this picture, but you can tell there are no large lumps.

DSCN0957

Add the buttermilk into the mixture, and stir until just combined. Do not over mix.  One thing I have found in order to achieve light fluffy biscuits, it is very important to not overwork them by over-mixing or kneading the dough.  Pour out onto a floured surface and pat together shaping into a rectangle approximately 1/2 inch thick.

DSCN0959Gently fold into thirds and press together, patting it out until it is approximately 1 inch thick.

DSCN0960

Cut into 6-8 biscuits. I just cut mine into squares, but you can use a round biscuit cutter if you like. Place onto a baking sheet (either greased or lined with parchment paper). I like to bake them on a stone.

DSCN0961

Bake at 450 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until browned.

DSCN0962

These biscuits are so light and fluffy. The recipe is so simple, and they absolutely hit the spot each time I make them. I am happy to say that my husband has not mentioned finding a good biscuit recipe again! 🙂

This entry was posted in Dairy-free, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

