A lesson learned at 2 a.m.

I feel a tap on my shoulder and my eyes pop open.  There she is.  Couldn’t sleep and wants to snuggle in my bed.  I can’t say no, so I let her in.  I pull her into a hug and tell her I love her.  She smiles and I smile back.  I can’t go back to sleep when she is in bed with us, so I lay there enjoying her company.  After a while I tell her it is time to go back to her bed.  She says, “Ok”, and we get up.  We stop in the kitchen for a drink and the have a bathroom break before tucking her back in.  I pull the covers up around her and make sure she is comfortable.  I tell her once again how much I love her.  She answers back the same and then she says to me…

“Goodnight! Don’t let the bed bugs bite!”

I say in return, “Goodnight, Sweetie, you do the same.”

She responds, “You don’t have to worry about that…, I caught them all!”

I can’t help but smile and laugh.

As I head back to bed, I thank God for the wonderful gift my daughter is, and what a huge blessing it truly is to be called “Mom”.  I thank Him for the great relationship I have with my daughter, that we can just enjoy each other’s company with so few words exchanged.  I thank God for the humor my daughter has, and how she always seems to make me laugh when I least expect it.  I thank God for waking me at 2 a.m. to remind me of how much He loves me.  I fall asleep in awe of His great love and all He has done for me.

20130924-132605.jpg

This entry was posted in Joys of Parenthood, Lessons in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A lesson learned at 2 a.m.

  1. Elsie says:

    I love to read the little accounts of your interactions as mother and daughter. Treasure these memories, as they will bring you much pleasure in your
    life. I love you grandma L.C.

Leave a Reply

