Spaghetti Noodle Soup

It can be a scary thing to ask your 4-year-old if she has any requests for dinner.  I did this a while back and did not expect the answer she gave.  She wanted spaghetti noodle soup or “Skabeddy Noodle Soup” as she says it.  I really was not fond of this idea at first.  Although I do like spaghetti, I just wasn’t sure I wanted to eat it in soup form…  I made up several excuses, but she kept asking.  Persistence definitely pays off, because I finally made it.  I have to admit, I was pleasantly surprised!  Sometimes it seems that soups tend to cater more to adults, and this one is definitely kid friendly!

100_7512

Spaghetti Noodle Soup

  • 1 pound ground meat, I used ground chicken
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 8 ounce package fresh white mushrooms, washed and sliced
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 jar of your favorite spaghetti sauce
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 6-8 cups chicken broth (I used water with chicken bullion)
  • 8-10 ounces dried spaghetti noodles

Cook spaghetti noodles according to package instructions until al dente.

In a large soup pot, cook ground meat and onion until meat is no longer pink, and the onion is soft.  Add in the mushrooms, canned tomato, spaghetti sauce, seasonings, and chicken broth.  When noodles are ready, drain the noodles and add to the soup.  Cook for an additional 5-10 minutes to allow the flavors to meld together.

100_7511

I served these breadsticks with the soup.  They were a great addition.  You could also serve garlic toast or crackers.  I didn’t have any on hand, but adding Parmesan to the top would be great too!

100_7518

Not only did we discover a fun new soup to have, I also made my daughter extremely happy.  I’m not sure what idea she will come up with next, but I’m hoping it turns out as good as this one!  🙂

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

