Vegetable Chowder

Have you ever come across a recipe that you got really excited about making?  Well, it is no surprise that I love to cook, and when I saw this recipe I got really excited!  Why? Because it is a “creamy” soup that I could tailor to our “little-to-no-dairy diet”.  Yeah!  I just have to tell you up front, that it was a huge hit.  My husband ranked it up there as one of his new favorite soups!

100_7763

Vegetable Chowder

  • 2 Tablespoons Olive oil
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 cup finely chopped carrot
  • 1-2 stalks finely chopped celery
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 cups chicken broth (I used water and chicken broth base)
  • 2 large baking potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 1 Tablespoon flour
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2/3 cup milk (or almond milk)
  • 2-3 cups chopped broccoli
  • 1 cup shredded cheese (I used a Mexican cheese blend)

In a large soup pot, sauté onion, carrot, and celery until tender.  Add garlic and cook 1-2 more minutes.  Add the chicken broth and potatoes.  Bring to a boil and cook until potatoes are tender.  Mix flour with water and add to the soup.  Simmer until soup is slightly thickened.  Add milk and broccoli and cook on medium-to-low heat until broccoli is tender (If you like your broccoli soft, consider adding it earlier – when the potatoes are almost cooked).  Stir in the cheese until it is melted.  Serve with crusted bread or crackers.

100_7759

There was absolutely nothing left when dinner was through!  I’d say we all liked it! 🙂  Next time I will definitely be making a double batch!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegetable Chowder

  1. Alright. This is on my list to make. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

