gluten-free chicken and dumplings in a crock pot

Ok, if I hadn’t made this myself, I never would have known it was gluten-free!  To be honest, most gluten-free recipes have a distinct taste or at least a different texture than non-gluten-free recipes.  This by far is one of the best dishes of chicken and dumplings I have ever eaten!  It is also dairy-free, so it did not leave me feeling so full and heavy like other chicken and dumpling dishes I’ve eaten.  It is completely from scratch, but super easy.

UPDATE: Due to several comments regarding the dumplings falling apart, I have added some changes to the recipe.  Hope it helps!

Gluten-Free Chicken and Dumplings

Gluten-free Chicken and Dumplings

Soup

  • 2 large chicken breasts
  • 1 cup chopped carrots
  • 1/2 cup diced celery
  • 1 onion diced
  • salt & pepper
  • 7 cups chicken broth

Dumplings

  • 3/4 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup tapioca flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 3 tablespoons shortening
  • 1/2 cup almond milk

Cover the bottom of a large crock pot with the vegetables.  Place the chicken on top of the vegetables and season with salt and pepper.  Pour the chicken broth over the chicken.  Cook on low for 6 hours.

After 6 hours, remove the chicken and turn the crock pot onto high.

UPDATE:  Turn the crock pot on HIGH approximately 30 minutes prior to adding the dumplings.  When testing the recipe again (a couple of times) I found that if I turned the pot on high after cooking for 5 – 5.5 hours (leaving the chicken in), the soup was then hot enough to cook the dumplings quicker once dropped in.  Go ahead and remove the chicken after the crock pot has been on high for 30 minutes.  You definitely want to make sure the chicken is fully cooked before removing.

To make the dumplings, stir together the dry ingredients.  Cut the shortening into the dry mixture until it resembles coarse crumbs.  This is easiest with a pastry cutter, but a fork will also work.  Add the almond milk and stir until it forms a thick dough.  You can add additional almond milk if your dough is too stiff to mix.

Drop dough by the tablespoon into the soup.  Cook on high for 1 to 1 1/2 hours or until the dumplings are not doughy.

UPDATE:  Be sure to not stir the soup after dropping the dumplings in.  Stirring will cause the dumplings to fall apart.  I know this is difficult, but DO NOT STIR.  If some of the dumplings have not been fully immersed, use a fork or spoon to gently press down into the soup.

While the dumplings are cooking, shred the chicken with two forks.  When the dumplings have about a half hour left of cooking time, add the chicken back into the soup and stir.

This dish is so yummy!  I took a chance and tested it out on our small group from church.  It got rave reviews, and the crock pot was practically licked clean.  I really wish I would have gotten a picture of it, but I didn’t, so you’ll have to use your imagination!  🙂

We will definitely be making this again!

This entry was posted in Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to gluten-free chicken and dumplings in a crock pot

  1. Jennifer says:

    Can you use butter instead of shortening??

    • Unfortunately, butter will not work. I have tried this and the dumplings completely fell apart. Butter has a much lower melting point than shortening. I’m still looking for a healthier alternative to shortening for this recipe, but haven’t found one yet.

  2. Pingback: Gluten-Free Crock Pot Chicken And Dumplings Recipe – Gluten Free With Joy

  3. Happy714oc says:

    Tried this recipe and my dumplings all fell apart 😢. At first they were great but then all disintegrated. I followed the recipe to the t.

  4. Shawna says:

    Anyone think I could make this and freeze leftovers for use later? Me and my one son are gf, the rest of household isn’t. I know we won’t be able to finish it all, but hate to waste food.

  5. I eat GF, so I will definitely try this recipe. Thanks

  6. Sunnie payne says:

    Can I replace the almond milk with regular milk

  7. art says:

    can i add another starch other than rice? thanks for the recipe

  8. Whitney says:

    The first time I made this it was thick and very good. However now it is very soupy. Maybe because I tried to double it. How do I get it to taste like it did before? Did you change the recipe?

    • I’m not sure what to tell you as far as it being soupy. I did not change the recipe itself, but did provide some updates to the instructions as many expressed issues with the dumplings falling apart. If the dumplings fall apart, that would thicken the soup, so maybe that has something to do with it. Doubling recipes can also change how they turn out sometimes.

  9. Teresa says:

    How many servings do you think this makes?

  10. Elizabeth says:

    I had a similar experience as Kelly. In my case, I made the dough ahead of time and chilled it in the fridge for a few hours. I think my problem was, after I put the dumplings in, I stirred the soup. This made about half of my dumplings fall apart. The soup is still cooking, so I’m not sure how the other half of the dumplings will turn out. On another note…I decided to add some traditional chicken soup spices to the broth, such as thyme, bay leaf, garlic, salt, and pepper. I thought the broth needed some spice 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your recipe! I hope the next time I make it the dumplings are a little more successful.

    • That sounds so yummy with the other seasonings!!

      I made this recipe again last week and it has been a while since I made it. I too stirred the soup after adding the dumplings and they fell apart. I was rushing the dumplings though because the crockpot had already been on a lot longer than I had planned that day and we were all really hungry!! It still tasted really good, it was just a bit thicker and not as many dumplings to enjoy.

      Next time I will try turning the crockpot on high for longer before I add the dumplings. And maybe I won’t be in such a rush. Lol!

  11. Kelly says:

    I need help with this recipe! I made it EXACTLY as written and my dumplings disintegrated within 5 minutes of putting them in the crock pot. Now I have really thick chicken soup 😞 What did I do wrong?

    • I’m so sorry this happened. 😞 I’ve not had that happen before. A few things come to mind as possibilities. The dumplings could have had too much almond milk in them and you could try adding more flour, or reducing the milk. When making the dumplings, maybe mush them together a bit before dropping them in the crockpot. Another thing to try might be to make the dumplings a little bit earlier and chill the dough before dropping in the crockpot. I really hope one of these suggestions will help.

  12. lilstasi2@aol.com says:

    Do you think you could make this a couple hours ahead of time and let it sit in the crockpot on warm till it is time to eat? Thanks.

  13. Any dairy/soy/animal lard free suggestions on replacement for the shortening? 😦 I’m a difficult case. Do you think Earth Balance dairy/soy free “butter” would work?

  14. Carrie Z says:

    Has anyone made these without the almond milk? I am allergic and would have to use something else but wondering if it would change anything and if I could just use regular milk?

  15. Melanie says:

    sounds great! Looking for new tasty dinner ideas for my 2yr old who is gluten free, dairy free, nut free, etc… Can you give recommendation for cooking this in the pressure cooker? Not sure how to add the dumplings-release the pressure, then bring it back up again? Then should I take the chicken out at that point? Thanks!

  16. Mira says:

    Thank you, just diagnosed from doctor and am wheat free, dairy free and egg free at this point. Not that I don’t like a good muffin or cake, but really needed some good ole home cooking meal type recipes for the family. Something I can cook and eat with the family that I don’t have to make a separate meal for them. This fits the bill!

  17. Bethany says:

    My son ordered chicken and dumplings today at a restaurant, which set off a major pregnancy craving for me! I had not enjoyed dumplings since going gluten free.

    Like one of the commentors above, I also used the Krusteez gf blend, regular milk, and butter. I just used precooked chicken, frozen peas and carrots though because I was in a hurry. I rolled my dough between parchment and had no problems with sticking.

    Even though I modified the recipe due to what I had on hand, it was very yummy and satisfied my craving within 15 minutes! Thank you! 🙂

  18. Pingback: Gluten Free Chicken and Dumplings | theglutardfamily

  19. Kath says:

    I made this with some slight modifications. For me the onion pierced with cloves made chicken and dumplings but since I cannot digest onions……I took a larger piece of celery and stuck three whole cloves into it and added it with the carrots (doubled carrots). I pulled it out just before I put the dumplings in. This was soooo yummy. I also had a handful of frozen peas to use up so I put them in ten minutes before it was done. Again, a great recipe!

  20. Karen says:

    I’ve been looking for recipes like this that are gluten free & dairy free. It’s great to see some. Sounds really good too.

  21. Melisa says:

    I like to “roll out” my dumplings and cut them into strips. Will this combination of ingredients stand up to a rolling pin? Or will they be too sticky and fall apart?

    • The way the recipe is, I think the dough would be too sticky to roll out. You could try, just be sure to ‘flour’ your surface really well and maybe even add additional flour to your dumpling dough. Enjoy! Let me know how it turns out! 🙂

  22. Susan says:

    can you give cooking times for stovetop recipe? I don’t have a crockpot but this sounds delicious.
    Thanks much.

    • I think I would cook everything on the stove for about 35-45 minutes or until the chicken is fully cooked. Then add the dumplings and cook for an additional 20-25 minutes until the dumplings are cooked through. Stove top will definitely be faster. Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

  23. Diane says:

    I made the dumplings tonight but of course had to sub for what I had on hand. Yum! I followed your measurements but used my GF flour mix that already has starch, so 1 1/4 c of GF flour mix, used butter instead of shortening & regular dairy milk instead of almond. I pressed my dough out on parchment paper, about 1/4 inch thick & used a pizza cutter to cut it into 1/2″ cubes because my group fight over the dumplings. Chilled thrm for 20 min. Then dumped it in my simmering chicken noodle soup right after the noodles. Put lid on-no stirring for 10-13 min. Turned heat off, let set another couple minutes. Stir as I served. Delicious! Thanks for the inspiration.

    • Yum! that sounds so good! Glad it turned out well for you. I definitely would prefer a dumplings using real dairy. One of the many sacrifices I’ve had to make for my daughter’s health. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  24. Patrice says:

    I grew up eating chicken and dumplings and when I was diagnosed with a gluten allergy, this was the dish that I missed the most…not anymore! These are amazing!!! I was VERY skeptical of gf chicken and dumplings but you could NEVER tell these didn’t have regular flour. Just make sure the dumplings are fairly thin/flat so they have the best consistency. This, by far, is my favorite gf recipe yet!

Leave a Reply

