super easy crockpot meatballs and spaghetti

It has been years, I mean YEARS – like way back when I was living with my parents years, since I made meatballs.  At least,… until now.  I never enjoyed any of the process – hand mixing meat, eggs, seasoning, cooking them in a pan until you hoped they were cooked through, yet trying your best not to burn them.  At the same time, the simplicity of just buying premade meatballs goes against my desire to eat minimally processed foods (not really sure what’s all in those meatballs anyway).  This week, I came across this recipe in a cookbook I bought not too long ago.  It sounded easy enough, and since my Little Mouse loves meatballs dearly, I thought I’d give it a go.  A big plus – its made in a crockpot!

img_9518

Super Easy Meatballs and Spaghetti

  • 2 lbs Italian Sausage (our favorite is Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage – has amazing flavor and definitely not too spicy for my Little Mouse)
  • 28 oz crushed tomatoes
  • 2 (14.5 oz) cans petite diced tomatoes
  • 1 Tablespoon Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • salt to taste

Remove casing from sausage and brake into 1 inch pieces, shaping them into balls.  Drop into crockpot.  It’s okay if they are layered on top of each other.

In a separate bowl, stir together the crushed tomatoes, petite diced tomatoes, Italian seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder, pepper, sugar, and salt.

Poor over the meatballs in the crockpot.  Cook on low for 8 hours or on high for 5-6 hours.

Serve with your favorite noodles.  Little Mouse had hers over regular spaghetti noodles, while we opted to eat ours atop zucchini noodles (zucchini cut with a veggie noodle cutter thingy).

This was definitely a successful dish!  My family raved over it!  Little Mouse was so excited all day that I was actually making meatballs.  She even thanked God (again) for our meatball dinner during her bedtime prayers.

It was so easy, and super quick to put together, that I’m sure this will become a regular on our monthly menu!

I hope you give it a try and be sure to let me know how your family likes it!

This entry was posted in Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to super easy crockpot meatballs and spaghetti

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Chicken, Green Beans, and Potatoes - 2HerbItUp

  2. Brigett says:

    I’m definitely trying this one out!

Leave a Reply

